Water: Illustration Friday

Italian Dream: Venezia
In the fall of 2010, I was blessed enough to take the trip of a lifetime with my 15 year old daughter. We traveled throughout Italy for 10 days visiting multiple cities such as Rome, Assisi, Venice, Burano, Verona, San Gimignano, and of course, the birthplace of the Renaissance, Florence.
I still dream of Italy on a daily basis and thought I’d try my hand at a painting of Venice, the city of water. For more information on a trip similar to the one we took, visit Trafalgar – Italian Dream.
VenicePainting_web
Painting progression…
PaintingSteps
Title: Venezia (Water – IF) | Date: 7/25/2012 | Size: 13″ x 10″ | Medium: oil on canvas, digital painting
This blog and its contents are ©copyright of Sherri Oliver 2012. All rights reserved.
8 thoughts on “Water: Illustration Friday

  1. I am searching for images that use one point,two point or three point perspective for my Perspective class at the Art Institute Online. I found your painting here and felt that I had to say: It is a beautiful painting. Your use of bright contrasting colors and textures really makes the scene “come to life”, when saw the thumbnail of this image I almost thought it was a photograph. Great work. I hope to someday make beautiful art like this. . .and go to Venice, as well. 🙂

  2. accckkk!! this is STUNNING, sherri! wonderful light and i love how here and there you are very liberal with your strokes and the paint is kind of hunky, abstract and suggestive. and then, in other spots, very soft…almost understated. the water in the canal is very well handled. and, oh you lucky girl! venice!

Leave a Reply

